Look after your chakras!

MollyHealing, Yoga

Look after your chakras!

Intuitive Healer, Molly Furzer, gives the lowdown on chakras and looking after your energy body.

If you’ve practised yoga for a while, you have probably become more sensitive to subtle energy, or prana, which is found in all living things.

Prana comes into our subtle energy body through our breath, and the food and water that we consume (a good reason to take in quality air, food and water!). Our energy body’s nadis (energy pathways) and chakras (energy centres, or spinning “wheels”) distribute prana to our emotional and mental bodies (which make up our aura).

When you have trauma, periods of high stress or don’t take care of yourself (physically, mentally or spiritually), your energy body can become “dirty” – literally bits and pieces (unprocessed emotions, other people’s energy you’ve taken on, etc) will cause blockages in parts of the body, resulting in the flow of energy slowing down or stopping altogether.

Our chakras perform specific functions in relation to their location in the body – the seven main chakras are located from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra is associated with the body’s organs and certain emotions.

When there is an imbalance in a chakra, it can show up as dysfunction or disease. A good example is heartbreak – that painful feeling that wells in your heart chakra; or the “choked” feeling at the throat when there is something that you want to say but can’t.

So, taking caring of you energy body is as important as getting a haircut, visiting the dentist, eating healthily, exercising and showering every day. Spiritual practices such as yoga and meditation nourish your energy body, helping to keep it in tip-top shape. Practice regularly, and when you need the support of an energy healer, call on one.

The chakras
Let’s take a closer look at the seven main chakras, so you can understand their role in your day-to-day life.

1. Base or root chakra (Muladhara)
Location: Base of the spine between the pelvic bone and coccyx.
Colour: Red
Function: To keep us alive! It’s all about survival and security, and having our basic needs met. When imbalanced, you may be possessive, self-centred, egotistical or frozen by fear.

2. Sacral chakra (Swadisthana)
Location: Below the navel.
Colour: Orange
Function: Reproduction and sexuality; giving and receiving pleasure. When imbalanced, you may feel low energy, poor health, clingy, guilt or you may behave inappropriately sexually or be unable to pleasure yourself or others.

3. Solar Plexus chakra (Manipura)
Location: Above the stomach.
Colour: Yellow
Function: Our personal power centre, relating to will and opinion. When imbalanced, you may experience fear and anxiety, have a sense of being lost, or feel anger and frustration.

4. Heart chakra (Anahata)
Location: Behind the breastbone.
Colour: Green
Function: Giving and receiving human love. When imbalanced, you may only give conditional love or behave in a selfish manner; you may feel sadness or depression.

5. Throat chakra (Vishuddha)
Location: Throat.
Colour: Blue or turquoise
Function: When developed, it enables us to speak out truth, express our creativity and vocation. When imbalanced, you may have an inability to communicate, fear of failure, or be judgemental.

6. Brow/third eye chakra (Ajna)
Location: Centre between the eyebrows.
Colour: Purple or deep blue
Function: Wisdom – intellectual and spiritual. When imbalanced, there is confusion and negativity.

7. Crown chakra (Sahasrara)
Location: Top of the head.
Colour: Violet or white
Function: Highest state of consciousness. When imbalanced, you may have depression, fatigue or a closed mind.

Healing imbalances
Often during an intuitive healing, imbalances in the chakras will show up. As a healer, I am able to release blockages and channel energy into the chakras to get it moving in the right direction.

After an intuitive healing, many clients report increased energy to do what they have been putting off for a long time. They feel more open to love; more self-esteem and self-power; greater will to achieve their dreams; and less fear and anxiety.

Molly Furzer has been practising yoga since 1999 and teaching since 2007. She teaches gentle yoga to adults and Kids & Family Yoga in the Rainbow Kids Yoga method. She also leads Laughter Yoga classes and offers Intuitive Healing.

To book an intuitive healing session, visit my healing website.